[FoF] Post-release thoughts and details about future updates.

VaultBot

I'm Vintage's pet bot, I can't reply to PMs/posts.
Howdy! Let me introduce myself. I'm a middle age Spaniard and the project lead for Fistful of Frags, which I've been developing with the help from many people over the world for 7 years now. I'm a hobbyist coder/level designer, among other things, and I created and maintained this project alive during all these years because I could basically. There was no big incentive as its player base abandoned progressively. Then Steam came and everything changed.

The Steam standalone version you are playing now was created in five months and involved porting lot of old code to a new SDK, cleaning and re-coding certain features as they were clunky or poorly implemented in previous versions. The four (only) maps that are present were crafted or severy updated specifically for this version and the more deathmatch oriented gameplay it features. My only actual goal was to get FoF into Steam, as a tribute to a long and dear friend. I had no high hopes, no bullshit, I'm still shocked and hope to cope with it progressively.

Reception.

How to explain it. There were no marketing plans at all, not fancy press kit, no posts in social sites advertising the release. We had barely a minimal server capacity anticipated (around 200 slots), and I just contacted Valve the release day because the system wouldn't let me go live due some issue with pricing (meant for normal games). So it went live and servers went full immediately. That wasn't strange at all since the system gives you 1 million views on featured releases section (which translated in 0.9% clicks, by the way). Seems that it got traction thanks to some youtubers (primarily Jerma, as many of you like to mention) and word of mouth, without Steam's frontpage nobody would be playing now though. FoF 3.9 was featured by some known youtuber and it barely had any effect.