[Indie] Game Dev Tycoon

CorruptDictator

I want a custom title, but I dont trust VintagePC
Let us talk about the game I just bought last night, Game Dev Tycoon. I had ignored this title when someone informed me about it a week or two ago because it just looked like a knockoff of Game Dev Story. However, on a whim last time I said to heck with it and bought the game anyway because I loved playing Game Dev Story, but rarely use our iPad. On top of that the game was only eight bucks and it is hard to be completely disappointed in something that cheap as long as I can get a few hours entertainment out of it.

I was completely right to say it was a knockoff, but it is a knockoff in all the best ways. I am still getting into the game (kept me up way too late last night), but I would say it is about a 75% copy and 25% new and improved so far. At the open you play as just one guy in a garage pumping out games in the PC/C64 era and play for thirty years of in game time. Early on I saw a few little changes that I very much enjoyed. Number one to this is how you level up your teams ability to use generalized skill areas such as world design or gameplay instead of just attributing points to such categories like in GDS (points that can often become difficult to earn more of as the game went on). I love how I can research everything from new game types (instead of unlocking them by chance) to extra features for my games and elements for custom game engines. The game engine development facet is especially nice since you get make an engine all encompassing for any game type, or focus on researching and including elements that are tailored for the kind of games you make most often. I have read that you can eventually make a console, but so far with the engine feature I could not care less about that.